A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: The Girl I Was Before by Ginger Scott.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘The Girl I Was Before’(Falling Series #3) by Ginger Scott.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: THE GIRL I WAS BEFORE
Author: Ginger Scott
Series: Falling Series – book #3
Publishing date: June 23rd, 2015
(Review based on an ARC-early copy)

📚

(Click the Cover below to order a copy of ‘The Girl I Was Before’ Now)

The Girl I Was Before by Ginger Scott 3

The Synopsis:

I’m the selfish one. I suppose that’s the nicest thing people say about me. I’ve heard the other things, too. “Paige Owens is a pretty girl with nothing else to offer. She’s just a good time at a party. She’s stupid, heartless, cold and useless. All she cares about is getting a guy to look at her. Why would anyone want to be her friend?”

Some of those things are true. Others were true. They’re all hurtful.

None of it matters.

I’m ready to make the hard choices. I’m ready to face the consequences. I’m ready to be the girl I was before, and I’m done being the one who lost her way.

I’m ready to become the girl Houston Orr sees when he looks at me.

Houston isn’t a star athlete. He doesn’t play in a band. He’s never going to be president, and his life is so far away from simple and easy it isn’t even funny.
He wasn’t part of my plan. But I’m starting to think plans are overrated, and maybe our stories are what we make them. And mine depends entirely on me, and the choices I make…starting now.

Houston is my fairytale. He’s perfectly imperfect. He’s poetry and life. He’s truth and heartbreak, all rolled up in a tall body with dark hair, broad shoulders and green eyes that lull me into submission. He’s nothing I ever thought I wanted, but the very thing I need. He’s the only guy I’ve ever really loved, and he thinks I’m a princess. I fell into him, and now I’m holding on.

But sometimes life takes away our ability to choose. Sometimes…things aren’t in your control. Sometimes, it hurts to be selfless. My only hope is that when it comes time to choose, I get it right.

Welcome to my once upon a time and wish for happily ever after.

______

My ‘Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review’ after reading ‘THE GIRL I WAS BEFORE’ (Falling Series – book #3):

***WARNING: Possible SPOILERS if you haven’t read the previous Novels of the Falling Series.***

“The Girl I Was Before” is the third installment of the Falling Series by the wonderful author Ginger Scott. As a huge fan of her novels, I tend to always expect amazing stories with feelgood, romantic stories. With her latest novel, I was not disappointed and enjoyed each moment of the story as it follows Paige and Houston.This novel is of the new adult and contemporary romance genres. This novel is written from the two main character’s P.O.V.’s(point of views), Houston Orr and Paige Owens.

Paige Owens is nothing like her twin-sister Cass. She moved to attend college with her sister in Oklahoma from California. It wasn’t her first choice but even so, she planned on making the best of it. Paige has everything she could want: she’s a part of a popular sorority, the rich and popular president of the sorority is her new close friend, she’s dating a hot football-jock named Carson, and she’s always invited to the cool parties. She got it all at an expensive price: the trust of her twin-sister Cass. Most people seem to think they know her because of what she usually shows them. She comes across as a shallow, dumb, stuck-up, party-girl and someone who doesn’t care much for others. With her relationship strained with her sister Cass, she only has her sorority sisters to lean on but they might not be worth the all the she’s given up. As secrets are spilled, priorities change, will things ever be good between Paige and her sister Cass? And how will things change when she finally meets the guy at the deli?

Houston Orr’s life is constantly on the go. If he’s not busy with school and studying, he’s working and helping to take care of things at home. His life changed drastically when he was a teenager that caused him to grow up a little faster. When tragedy struck his life and those he cares most about, he had to carry much more on his shoulders. But being the kind of person that Houston is, he takes on the responsibilities and works hard in the process. He’s noticed the beautiful girl every time she’s come into his workplace and ordered food from him but she’s never paid him any mind. When he spots her with a guy who doesn’t seem deserving, he lets her know that she can do better. Something about this girl makes him want to get to know her but will she always be out of reach? She’s feisty and a little rude but he can’t help but think that there is more under her pretty coat of typical partying college girl. Even if she were to give him the time of day, he couldn’t do anything about it. He has his own secrets that would probably scare her away anyway.

The Girl I Was Before was a beautiful and touching story with some emotional highs. Seeing how the tough girl Paige grows throughout the story just makes you see that maybe there are more reasons behind her mean exterior. Houston is such an amazing male character and reading about him and their story together was adorably-captivating. Seeing their layers peeled away and their imperfections and secrets one by one becoming exposed, just made them seem so real and made the storyline very satisfying. I give this novel and this series my stamp of approval and recommendation for readers who enjoy reading charming and pleasurable romance stories with likeable characters.  Check this one out when you’re looking for something good to read next. 🙂

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘THE GIRL I WAS BEFORE’  4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined the characters while reading ‘THE GIRL I WAS BEFORE’:

1 collage 2

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘THE GIRL I WAS BEFORE’

Paige’s thoughts:  And I’m probably evil for thinking that, but I’ve been evil before. I’ve been selfish, heartless, calculated—cold. I’m starting to think the problem is that it’s taken me this long to find the line between the good side and the bad, and right now, I’m straddling.
With one press of my finger on my phone, I can send Chandra to the ground. I’m holding her power hostage, afraid of the responsibility that comes along with gambling with it. No, that’s not the truth. I’m not afraid of the responsibility at all. What scare me are the consequences.

 

Paige’s thoughts:  Chandra—she holds the power. My new life, it only exists because of her. I know I’m a bitch for thinking of myself, but this existence—the parties, the boyfriend, the popularity and status—it’s all I’ve ever wanted. It sounds shallow, but is it really so different from wanting to be the lead in a play or the star athlete? I wanted to be looked up to, admired and envied, and Chandra was my ticket.

Paige and Houston:  I can feel the force of his eyes on me as I turn to leave; my heart is kicking the insides of my chest in anticipation of his voice. I almost make it outside when I feel his hand on my shoulder. I spin around, ready to lay into him—my fire flickering.
“You can do better,” he says before I can open my lips to speak. His gaze is direct, and it halts me, if only for this moment. “That’s all I want to say. I just thought you should know. You. Can do. Better.”
His face is serious. There’s a part of me that wonders if he’s flirting. But it doesn’t feel like a pick-up line. Houston—his being here today, his words—this feels more like a rescue.

Paige and Houston:  The distance between us is mere steps, but neither of us is willing to take one. Now is not the time—with worlds waiting for each of us in opposite directions.
“I…” he starts as he turns to look at me again, his voice catching when he sees I’ve already begun to leave. “I’m sorry. I have to go inside.” For a moment, there’s a smile on his face. For a moment, there’s peace. It leaves just as quickly as it comes, the light gone again from his eyes.
“I understand,” I say.
Holding a hand up, I back away, then turn so I can’t see him close the door again. I can’t watch that—not again. Especially not this time.

Houston’s thoughts:  I walk away, and I’m taken back to my life more than five years ago, when I was just some cocky football jock who refused to let the pretty girl say no. I never thought anyone else would be worth all of that rejection, over and over, but this one…she’s worth walking through fire.
And I know she might make me.

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles

Character Q&A and ARC- Blogging Book Review – You And Everything After (The Falling Series – Book #2) by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

ARC- Blogging Book Review – This Is Falling (The Falling Series – Book #1) by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Cover Reveal – for You and Everything After by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Cover Reveal & Author Q&A – for This Is Falling by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

ARC- Blogging Book Review –  How We Deal With Gravity by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

ARC- Blogging Book Review – Blindness by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Double Book Review – Waiting On The Sidelines & Going Long (Waiting On The Sidelines Series – book #1 & #2) by Ginger Scott. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

📚

2 responses to “A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: The Girl I Was Before by Ginger Scott.

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: BOOK-COVER REVEAL: ‘In Your Dreams’ by Ginger Scott. | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

