A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: ‘Whispers In The Dark’ by Chase J. Jackson.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Whispers In The Dark’ by Chase J. Jackson.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: WHISPERS IN THE DARK
Author: Chase J. Jackson
Series: (None at this time)
Publishing date: May 26th, 2015
(Review based on an ARC-early copy)

📚

(Click the Cover below to order a copy of ‘Whispers In The Dark’ Now)

Whispers In The Dark by Chase J. Jackson

The Synopsis:

College graduate Adrian Ramirez has finally landed his first job, and it’s the opportunity of a lifetime: teaching at the elite Finley Academy in his hometown of Newnan, Georgia. Life is on the upswing, and Adrian returns home with girlfriend Lea and high hopes – but the Academy is not the idyll he imagined.

Along with the new pressures of adulthood, and a rising anxiety disorder he’s having trouble hiding, Adrian discovers there’s been a string of unexplained dropouts at the school. He suspects something is amiss with two of his students, identical twins Raven and Robin. One outgoing, one withdrawn, both keeping a secret.

When Adrian is accused of being at the center of a student’s breakdown, he is forced to dig deeper to unravel the mystery, finding influences of the paranormal along the way. Will Adrian be able to unlock the dark secrets of Finley Academy – and his own past – in time?

______

 

My ‘Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review’ after reading ‘WHISPERS IN THE DARK’:

This is my honest review after reading a copy of Whispers In The Dark by author Chase J. Jackson. This young adult novel definitely delivers a decent amount of horror, paranormal aspects and revolves around a teacher and high school students. The novel is written from the main character Adrian Ramirez’s P.O.V.(point of view), but there is a second brief P.O.V. from a student character named Robin, also.

Twenty six year old Adrian Ramirez just recently moved back to his hometown and into his late-grandmother’s home. His girlfriend Lea moved with him, leaving behind her life to start a new one with Adrian. He was recently hired at a prestigious private academy to teach English to middle school students. Adrian begins catching up with his old buddies from town which begins to cause some tension in his relationship with Lea because he’s always gone, leaving her alone at home. To top it off, Lea has been hearing strange noises in the house when she’s there alone.

As quickly as Adrian begins his job at the academy, unexplainable incidences begin to occur. What is the cause of the noises at the house Lea and Adrian are living in? And is there a reason behind these eerie dreams that Adrian has been having? What is with the strange students in Adrian Ramirez’s class? There are so many questions and the story leads you down a creepy path to get the answers.

The storyline was catchy, had some really creepy moments and was a quick little entertaining read. There were a few flaws but nothing that truly takes away from being able to enjoy the story completely. The scary points in the story are what kept my interest while reading this story but some of the characters didn’t seem believable in small ways. “Whispers In The Dark” doesn’t fall short and delivers enough suspense to be enjoyable. This book is something to read if you’re into a book with a mix of paranormal and horror in the young adult genre. It was a decent read. Check it out if this sounds like something you’d be into. 

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘WHISPERS IN THE DARK’  3 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 3.5

👏

How I imagined the characters while reading ‘WHISPERS IN THE DARK’:

1 collage 2

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘WHISPERS IN THE DARK’

Adrian’s thoughts:  …I heard the noise again. My heartbeat sped up. It did sound like someone was upstairs. I used to hear noises in this house all the time when I was growing up. My grandma always said it was just the house settling, and that I didn’t have anything to be afraid of.

Lea and Adrian:  “So, what do you think she wanted?” Lea asked.
“I don’t know. I never found out,” I explained. “I think she ended up going to a different school after that year. I mean, I never saw her again.”
“That’s creepy,” Lea replied. “I wonder what happened to her?”

Raven, Adrian and Justin:  “Yeah, she and Isabelle seem to talk all the time,” Raven said. “Isabelle always seems to have a bad attitude to me.”
“Oh, you noticed that, too,” I said.
“Yeah, she always has some little smart comment to make,” Raven continued. “And I tried getting Robin to sit with me and my friends, but I think it’s awkward for her when she’s around too many people.”
“Was she always like that?” Justin asked.
“Well, she’s always been the quiet one, and I was the more outspoken one, but all this bad stuff didn’t start happening until we came to this school,” Raven explained.

Adrian’s thoughts:  This was it. All those panic attacks had taken a toll on my body. I couldn’t control it anymore. “It was my fault. I was selfish. You deserved someone better than me. I should have been there for…for…you.”

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

 

One response to “A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: ‘Whispers In The Dark’ by Chase J. Jackson.

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

