ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Inferno’ by Kathryn Kelly.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Inferno’ (Phoenix Rising Rock Band Series – Book #1) by Kathryn Kelly.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: INFERNO
Author: Kathryn Kelly
Series: Phoenix Rising Rock Band Series (BOOK #1)
Publishing date: March 10th, 2015
(Review based on an ARC-early copy)

📚

(Click the Cover below to order a copy of ‘Inferno’ Now)

Phoenix Rising Rock Band Series - 1 INFERNO by Kathryn Kelly

The Synopsis:

I’m a rocker with the eyes of the world on me. Waiting for my triumph or my downfall…just waiting. Most of my life is in my hands. My destiny? That’s another story. My destiny isn’t as debt free.

My band, Phoenix Rising, arrives in Houston to cut a new album. Before we perform our first concert in the city and I choose my groupies of the night, I’m thrust into debauchery. Sleeping with a gorgeous woman twenty years older than me has its perks, especially when her husband orchestrated the encounter and eagerly watches. To me, performing is performing. If a man wants to share his wife, who am I to stop him?

Unfortunately for me, I don’t make a clean getaway as I leave the McCall mansion. Georgie, their sixteen-year-old daughter, is in the midst of her own intrigue, sneaking home in the middle of the night after an evening of drugs and sex with her older brother’s best friend. In her, I see me. She’s lost and drifting. Her hedonistic parents insist she’s old enough to make her own decisions. Instead of time and love, they give her money and things.

I’m a twenty-five-year old international superstar and I know better. I’m cocky and arrogant. I know it so I own it. Somehow, I’ve always bested the fates. I have all to lose—my reputation, my career, and my freedom. Her mother’s jealousy forces my hand and I take Georgie on the tour.

This is our story and our secret relationship and the destruction of my life. You know the adage about secrets? Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead. Wise words from a wise man. If only I had listened. Secrets have a way of revealing themselves in the harshest way.

 

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘INFERNO’:

This is the first novel in the new series from author Kathryn Kelly named Phoenix Rising Rock Band Series. If you’re familiar with her previous work, readers know you can rely on her to write an intense novel with plenty of raw and emotional moments. The characters always stir powerful feelings in you whether it be a strong love or hate for each of them. And that is always a great thing when you read a story because it draws you into the novel so much more. “Inferno” is written in the three P.O.V.’s(point of views) from Sloane Mason, Georgiana McCall, and Cassandra McCall.

The story begins with a huge revelation about where the story will go for one of the main characters, sixteen year old Georgiana McCall. Georgie’s life is filled with nice things money can buy, her new curiosity with drugs, exploring her sexuality while remaining a virgin, and having parents who’d rather give her money instead of attention. She runs the risk of dieing young but no one around her seems to really care one way or the other. She can feel it, too. Her brother’s best friend has been secretly introducing her to the darker things in life without her big brother’s knowledge. She uses it all as an escape from her empty existence that has been slowly bringing her down.

Georgiana’s mother Cassandra McCall has always been looked at as classy within the social circle of high society she’s a part of. But there are many more, deeper layers to her life than what she shows to those she clinks wine glasses with in he snobby social world. She will do anything to keep her husband Parnell happy and satisfied, which includes allowing extra outside lovers into their bedroom to spice their sexual life up. When the famous rocker Sloane Mason comes over for a one night tryst with Cassandra with her husband’s permission, things become messy, fast.

Rock star and lead singer of the band Phoenix Rising, Sloane Mason, lives the life of what a rock star and his reputation is mostly accurate. He has a new woman or a few women each night, parties hard with his band mates and long time friends, and is as cocky as can be. At a party he meets a very sexy girl that happened to be high as a kite. He spends a little time trying to get her right while she’s busy fangirling over who he is and wanting to seduce him. Temptation is a strong drug sometimes. He gives in a little. He also can’t help but see a little bit of himself in this young, broken girl. After that brief encounter, he ends up sharing a very wild night with a married woman. The only problem was that as he was leaving, he runs into the same girl he met from the party. He finds out she’s only sixteen from her father!

From there, the story just falls into a twisted tailspin for all of the characters involved in this story while delving into a taboo relationship between Sloane and Georgie. This story is dark, twisted and captivating. This is not your typical romance so don’t expect that. “Inferno” takes you for a deeper ride down a dark road where the temptations are full of intoxicating decadence at every corner. The characters and their imperfect needs struggle through their choices. Will Georgiana learn to live a better life or will it end before it can truly begin? Is Sloane always going to live up to his bad-boy reputation or will he prove naysayers wrong? Will Cassandra go to any distance to stop her daughter from getting what she wants? I definitely say this one is worth the read and I’m looking forward to what is next in this series. And yay, there is a sneak-peek into the next novel of this series toward the end! Check this one out, I recommend it!

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘INFERNO’  4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined the characters while reading ‘INFERNO’:

1 collage 3

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘INFERNO’

Georgiana’s thoughts:  Sloane’s it for me, no matter how easily I was replaced. I understand his actions. I do. My age, his secrets, and lifestyle doomed us from the beginning.

Sloane and Georgiana:  “And you?” I question hoarsely. “No one would feel your loss?”
“No one remembers I’m alive.”
Her words echo in my brain and I realize it’s a play on my own words from one of my most infamous interviews. Everyone knows I’m alive. One is as bad as the other. In a fishbowl, attention limits you. With one snapshot or word, you’re either loved, admired, scorned, or hated. Sometimes, it’s a combination. Solitary, though, isolation is the enemy.

Georgiana’s thoughts:  He pauses when his gaze lands on me. I can’t speak. I can’t think. I can hardly breathe. An inferno is building inside of me and my entire being trembles. I’m about to seriously fan girl. Not two feet away from me, looking like the rock god he is, stands Sloane, like I’ve conjured him up or like I gave him a way to contact me.

Sloane’s thoughts:  She’s stirring something inside me. I have no clue what. Perhaps, she’s humanizing me and reminding me of my descent to the bottom of my drug hell.

Georgie to Sloane:  “You can’t save me. I was fucking lost when you found me and I’ll be lost when you decide to throw me away. Whatever else goes on, the one thing that isn’t, is me staying with you anymore.”

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles – more by Kathryn Kelly

 Triple Blogging Reader’s Reviews for: Books-#1, #1.5, #2  of The Death Dwellers MC Series by Kathryn Kelly (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: Misdeeds of The Death Dwellers MC Series #2.5 by Kathryn Kelly  (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: Misbehavior of The Death Dwellers MC Series #3 by Kathryn Kelly  (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: Misjudged of The Death Dwellers MC Series #3.5 by Kathryn Kelly  (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: Misguided of The Death Dwellers MC Series #4 by Kathryn Kelly  (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

4 responses to “ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Inferno’ by Kathryn Kelly.

  1. Pingback: GIVEAWAY + AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT WITH: KATHRYN KELLY. | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review for: Incendiary by Kathryn Kelly. | Books Movies Fandoms

  4. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: Dirty Boy by Kathryn Kelly. | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

