ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Only For Him’ by Cristin Harber.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Only For Him’ (Only Series – Book #1) by Cristin Harber.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: ONLY FOR HIM
Author: Cristin Harber
Series: Only Series (BOOK #1)
Publishing date: February 24th, 2015
(Review based on an ARC-early copy)

📚

(Click the Cover below to order a copy of ‘Only For Him’ Now)

Only For Him by Cristin Harber

The Synopsis:

Grayson Ford and Emma Kinglsey—close since they were kids, opposites in every way. He’s the stuff high school crushes are made of, Mister Popular, and captain of every team. She’s artsy, cute, and not in his league, though fully aware of Summerland’s “I Dream of Dating Grayson Ford” support group.

I can’t say no. The girl’s had my heart since before I knew it went missing.

He hides a life of hell. His father hates him, his mother’s gone. Emma is his only savior, yet she doesn’t know her power over him. She’s the only girl he wants, the only one he could ever tell—though he won’t.

I’m stronger, bigger, more of a man than he’ll ever be, but because I ruined his life, I’ve taken his crap, his attacks, the vulgar nature of his existence.

Until she discovers Gray’s embarrassment, his humiliation. Emma fights for him, for a chance. Theirs is a Cinderella story that she believes impossible. But as the layers peel back, it’s just a guy who needs a girl in order to keep breathing.

My mind is already doodling Mrs. Grayson Ford in imaginary notebooks. He has no clue where my head is at… But, given that I didn’t see what just happened coming, maybe I have no clue where his head is at either.
______

 

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘ONLY FOR HIM’:

This is the first novella titled “Only For Him” of a four part series by Cristin Harber. I’ve never read any previous work from this author but I am now a new fan of her work because of this story. “Only For Him” is of the New Adult genre and is a Contemporary Romance story with plenty of romantic and emotionally high points. This novella is written from the two main character’s P.O.V.’s(point of views), Grayson Ford and Emma Kingsley.

Grayson Ford lives with only his father “Pops” in a trailer on the other side of town from where he attends high school. His relationship with his father is definitely not a good or healthy one. Bruises, beatings, and verbal put-downs are a regular occurrence and Grayson just takes it because he carries some sort of guilt that stems from his mother. At school, Gray is a talented athlete, swooned and adored by the girls, and popular. He seems very confident and outgoing to everyone around him but he carries very dark secrets from everyone, including his closest friends, Ryan and Emma Kingsley. Grayson has a heart full of secrets because another secret he’s held onto through the years has been how strongly he has feelings for Emma. She is the one girl that brings peace to his life and the one that keeps his mind right through all of the dark days that he’s had to endure in private.

Emma Kingsley is only eleven months younger than her well-liked brother Ryan Kingsley, which has made them close and they tend to hang around at the same parties and have mutual friends. Emma is the opposite of her brother, where he is well-dressed and popular, Emma is an artsy-casual girl. Their mutual best friend, Grayson has always been around since they were kids and is the one guy, other than her brother, that her family trusts so much.  The only thing is that Emma has kept a secret from Grayson through the years and that is the secret long-time crush she’s had for him. Is it ever a right time to tell someone your true feelings for them and is it harder to do with someone you’d hate to risk losing?

 When senior year arrives, things are going the same between these two and their close friendship. Even though there is always a flurry of girls that chase him everyday, he somehow always seems to make sure to notice Emma. Then they decide to change things up.  One day, one kiss. And it changes everything. “No more stories. That’s all I’ve ever needed.” That is what he says to her which is such a turning point in the story. But as soon as they begin to open up about their feelings for each other, Gray’s dark truth is revealed. Grayson feels angry and embarrassed. He makes a decision about his future that would send his life down an entirely unexpected road. Knowing that both of their lives are headed down unpredictable paths toward the future, they decide to live it up on a fun-last vacation with friends toward the end of their senior year. This week long vacation would become a major turning point to both of their futures.

To say that this was not even a full-length novel and simply a novella, really says a lot about the story because it pulled me in. The characters were enjoyable and the storyline had pretty much most of the topics I enjoy reading about in my personal opinion. You get the first love, the feel of an unrequited love, a smidge of alpha-male persona, and a few other things that I won’t list because it would give away too much about the actual story. 🙂 Will Grayson let Emma know how much she means to him? Will Emma confess her feelings to Grayson? Are these two meant to be together or will life rip them apart? Can dark secrets ruin what could become something beautiful?

There is so much in this novella that makes it all together amazing, captivating and entertaining. This is definitely worth the read, I recommend it. I’m very anxious to get my hands on what’s next in this series. Heads Up: It ends on a major Cliff-hanger BUT the story is well worth it! That final sentence left me “mind blown!” Loved it all. The next novella of this series is out very soon. So check it out!

📚

★★More about the 4 Book Novella ‘Only Series’★★

Only For Him – Book #1 of the Only Series – Follows Grayson Ford and Emma Kingsley’s story of their early years up till they first become adults (Release Date: February 24th, 2015)
Only For Her – Book #2 of the Only Series – TBA (Release Date: Spring 2015)
UNKNOWN – Book #3 of the Only Series – TBA (Release Date: TBA)
UNKNOWN – Book #4 of the Only Series – TBA (Release Date: TBA)

 

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘ONLY FOR HIM’  4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined the characters while reading ‘ONLY FOR HIM’:

1 collage 3

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘ONLY FOR HIM’

Grayson’s thoughts:  I torture myself by staying under his roof, knowing he’s the most pathetic, ruined man I’d ever met. But I made him that way, and as fucked up as it sounds, it’s the only way I think he’ll survive. I owe him that much. Long ago, Pops was normal… I was normal… Mom was alive.

Emma’s thoughts:  I focus on our friendship, our closeness. It’s been the only way I can justify the homicidal tendencies that provoke my inner ninja warrior chick every single time I see some bippy-boppy, cliquey bitch succeed in getting his attention.

Emma’s thoughts:  I can’t drink around Grayson for fear that I’ll do something stupid. And I like being their sober option because I’m pretty much their only option, and that guarantees me more time with him. I’m a Grayson Ford addict. No one would blame me though, and I’m pretty sure there’s an I Dream of Gray support group at school.

Grayson’s thoughts:  I’m trying not to bed, trying not to run, needing to touch her, taste her. But I let her words run through my head. Even if I can’t offer Emma anything that she deserves, I can’t say no. The girl’s had my heart since before I knew it went missing.

Grayson and Emma:  His eyes bore into me, removing every vulnerable layer I have. “You’re all that’s right in my head. You get that?”
No. Not a chance. “I’m whatever you need.”
He nods. His lips dance over mine. He tastes so familiar, smells like my greatest weakness. How does he have the whole world fooled?
“Emma, no joke. If I didn’t have you, I’d-” He shakes his head. “I need you, always have, in a way you’ll never know.”

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles

Blogging Book ARC-Review of Only For Him (book #1-The Only Series) by Cristin Harber (BooksMoviesFandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Book ARC-Review of Only For Her (book #2-The Only Series) by Cristin Harber (BooksMoviesFandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Book ARC-Review of Only For Us (book #3-The Only Series) by Cristin Harber (BooksMoviesFandoms.wordpress.com)

Blogging Book ARC-Review of Only Forever (book #4-The Only Series) by Cristin Harber (BooksMoviesFandoms.wordpress.com)

4 responses to “ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Only For Him’ by Cristin Harber.

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Only For Her’ by Cristin Harber. | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Book Review: ‘Only For Us’ by Cristin Harber. | Books Movies Fandoms

  4. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Book Review: ‘Only Forever’ by Cristin Harber. | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

