ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ by Mary Jennifer Payne.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ by Mary Jennifer Payne.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE
Author: Mary Jennifer Payne
Publishing date: February 17th, 2015
(Review based on an ARC-early copy)

📚

(Click the Cover below to order a copy of ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ Now)

Since You've Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne

The Synopsis:

Is it possible to outrun your past? Fifteen-year-old Edie Fraser and her mother, Sydney, have been trying to do just that for five years. Now, things have gone from bad to worse. Not only has Edie had to move to another new school she’s in a different country.
Sydney promises her that this is their chance at a fresh start, and Edie does her best to adjust to life in London, England, despite being targeted by the school bully. But when Sydney goes out to work the night shift and doesn’t come home, Edie is terrified that the past has finally caught up with them.
Alone in a strange country, Edie is afraid to call the police for fear that she ll be sent back to her abusive father. Determined to find her mother, but with no idea where to start, she must now face the most difficult decision of her life.”

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE’:

This is my review of “Since You’ve Been Gone” by Mary Jennifer Payne. The story follows a young fifteen-year-old girl from Canada who is on the run with her mother. They have been running for about five years from her father who was abusive towards her mother and the last straw was when it finally was directed toward Edie. The story is written in the main character’s P.O.V.(point of view), Edie Fraser.

Being on the run from her own father has left her feeling scared and worried. Her mother is all she has and they are both careful about not leaving a trail that can be followed. Edie is starting at yet another new school, this time in an entirely new country. There are the usual loner kids, bullies and friendly people as there are anywhere else. Edie’s mother, Sydney lets Edie know that she will be starting a new cleaning job in London. Everything is looking up for them in this new place.

But as soon as everything seems to shine a little glimmer of positive possibilities, the worst thing that could happen, does. Sydney doesn’t return home after her first night at her night-time cleaning job. Edie tries her best to not think the worst has happened and that maybe her mother simply got lost in a new place. When Edie begins to feel lost and alone, she finds herself confiding in and making a potential ally in a classmate who the school thinks the worst of.  The rumors are that he is a killer.

Can Edie actually trust the classmate that she has began to open up to? Will Edie find her mother or has the worst happened? Is her father involved in her mother’s disappearance or is there a new threat? The story had a nice but mild suspenseful storyline but something about it just kept it falling short of being enthralling. The mystery behind the mother’s disappearance was captured well but it seemed like there were many characters and plot points that ended up feeling unnecessary. I enjoyed it enough to read it all the way through, the ending was entertaining and it wasn’t a bad plot at all. It was an okay story but it just fell short because of too much extras that weren’t relevant to the story. Check it out and make your own assessment on it.

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE’  3 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 3.5

👏

How I imagined the characters while reading ‘SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE’:

1 collage 2

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE’

Edie’s thoughts:  It’s nearly six o’clock. Mom should be home by now. We have this pact, this unspoken rule, that if one of us is going to be late, no matter what the reason, we have to call. And we can’t just leave a message; we need to speak to the other person. That way we can be sure we’re both safe.

Edie’s thoughts:  The frustrating thing is that each time my life changes, I leave little pieces of myself behind. Sometimes it’s a photograph or a gift I really liked or even just a project I did at school that I was really proud of. More often, it’s a best friend, a supportive teacher, or a boy I’m crushing on. I was ten years old when we began running, and I’ve been leaving pieces of myself, of my heart, in different apartments, cities, and school ever since. This time it’s much worse.

Edie and her mother Sydney:  My mother smiles at me. “I just want to let you know that I love you more than anything in this world.”
“You needed to pull me out of the shower and make me late for school just to tell me that?”
“I felt it was important that you know.” She leans in and kisses me on the cheek.
“Now get into that shower and get to school so you can someday rule the world, Edie Fraser!”

Edie’s thoughts:  Suddenly I realize how tired I am of running. And that’s when I decide there’s no way I’ll be scared into running again. I’m older now. This time I’m ready to fight.

Edie’s thoughts:  I’m so tired of saying goodbye to all the people and things I care about in my life.

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

3 responses to “ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ by Mary Jennifer Payne.

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

