A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: STEPBROTHER DEAREST by Penelope Ward

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Stepbrother Dearest’ by Penelope Ward.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: STEPBROTHER DEAREST
Author: Penelope Ward
Publishing date: September 29th, 2014
(Review based on ARC copy – early review)

📚

(Click the cover image below to order ‘STEPBROTHER DEAREST’ Now)

Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward 2smStepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward 1sm

The Synopsis for ‘Stepbrother Dearest’ (via: Goodreads) :

You’re not supposed to want the one who torments you.

When my stepbrother, Elec, came to live with us my senior year, I wasn’t prepared for how much of a jerk he’d be.

I hated that he took it out on me because he didn’t want to be here.
I hated that he brought girls from our high school back to his room.
But what I hated the most was the unwanted way my body reacted to him.

At first, I thought all he had going for him were his rock-hard tattooed abs and chiseled face. Then, things started changing between us, and it all came to a head one night.

Just as quickly as he’d come into my life, he was gone back to California.

It had been years since I’d seen Elec.

When tragedy struck our family, I’d have to face him again.

And holy hell, the teenager who made me crazy was now a man that drove me insane.

I had a feeling my heart was about to get broken again.

Stepbrother Dearest is a standalone novel.

**Contains graphic sexual content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘STEPBROTHER DEAREST’:

I was very excited to be able to read and review an ARC (early copy) of Penelope Ward’s latest novel “Stepbrother Dearest” after reading the blurb/synopsis for it.  The cover is not too bad either: sexy guy, tattooed and shirtless…can’t ask for anything more. 🙂  The story is written in the main female character Greta Hansen’s P.O.V.(point of view) but you also get a look into the main male character Elec O’Rourke’s P.O.V.(point of view) when he writes his autobiography.  So, it is nice to get to experience the story with two P.O.V.’s in that way.

We first meet Greta Hansen who lives in Boston with her mother Sarah and stepfather Randy.  She is a teenager in high school and an only child.  Her character finds out that her step-dad’s son Elec, will be moving from California to live with them and complete his final year of high school in Boston.  What Greta is expecting is getting the chance to get to know her stepbrother but that isn’t exactly what happens.  Her life will be changed when Elec moves in and begins to torment her.

Elec O’Rourke hasn’t really had much of a loving relationship with his father Randy.  He has lived with his mother Pilar in California and blames his father Randy for his mother’s depression after they separated.  When he must move in with Randy on the other side of the country in Boston, he had made up his mind to make life a living hell for his new step-mom and her teenaged daughter, whom he had never met before.  When he moves in, his plan is in motion but his agenda begins to change.

Stepbrother Dearest has a great mixture of steamy moments, romance, emotional highs and lows.  This novel brings you everything that a Penelope Ward novel usually delivers in the end: satisfaction to the readers.  The story covers Greta and Elec’s lives when they are teens and again when they are adults.  Will Greta ever find out why Elec is determined to cause trouble when he first arrives to Boston?  Is there more to Elec and Randy’s past, causing them to bump heads constantly?  Can time heal all wounds? Who will find romance and who will have to live without?  This is a great story and I do recommend it.  If you’re a fan of Penelope Ward, this is another fantastic story.  Check this one out when it comes out. It’s different but still amazing in the ways a romance novel should be.

*

Reader Warning: **Contains graphic sexual content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘STEPBROTHER DEAREST’  4 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4

👏

How I imagined Elec and Greta while reading ‘STEPBROTHER DEAREST’:

1 COLLAGE 1

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘STEPBROTHER DEAREST’

Greta’s thoughts:  I had never felt so out of control of my own body and was silently begging it to stop reacting so intensely toward him. Let’s face it. My body was an imbecile with poor judgement. How could it want something so badly that hated it right back?

Elec and Greta’s date:  “Let’s go. You’re not getting in his car.”-Elec.
“Who the fuck do you think you are, trying to take my date home?”
“I am her home, fucknut.” -Elec.

Greta’s thoughts: …I thought about how ironic it was that this guy who’d done nothing but try to chase me away and intimidate me was the one person in the world I felt like I wanted to protect.

Greta and Elec:  “Are you nervous?”
“I just don’t want to hurt you.” The way he looked at me when he said it made me realize he wasn’t really talking about the physical pain. He didn’t want me getting attached to him.
My chest tightened, and I was pretty sure it was a lie when I said, “You won’t.”
You will, but I want you anyways.

Elec’s thoughts:  Through death there was life. Through hate there was love. “In the end, there was you, and that made it all worth it.”  In the same way that you can easily switch the letters of a word around to see another hidden meaning, such is life. A life can be defined by its hardships or its blessings. It’s all a matter of how you look at it.

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles

Cover Reveal for – ‘Stepbrother Dearest’ by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review for ‘My Skylar’ by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Double Cover Reveal & Giveaway – ‘My Skylar’ and ‘Jake Understood’ by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review for ‘Jake Undone’(Gemini Series-#2) by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

One response to “A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: STEPBROTHER DEAREST by Penelope Ward

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

