A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: SWEET FALL by Tillie Cole

Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Sweet Fall’ (Sweet Home Series-Book #3) by Tillie Cole.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: SWEET FALL
Author: Tillie Cole
Series: Sweet Home Series (book #3)
Publishing date: August 26th, 2014

📚

(Click cover below to order a copy of ‘SWEET FALL’ Now)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000447_00008]

The Synopsis for ‘Sweet Fall’ (via: Goodreads) :

We all have secrets.

Secrets well buried.

Until we find the one soul who makes the burden of such secrets just that little bit easier to bear.

Lexington “Lexi” Hart is a senior at the University of Alabama. Surrounded by her best friends, her loving family and having fulfilled her life-long dream of making the Crimson Tide cheer squad, everything is going exactly as she always dreamed it would. But beneath her happy exterior, demons lurk, threatening to jeopardize everything Lexi has worked to achieve. When events in her life become too much to cope with, Lexi finds herself spiraling down into the realm of her biggest fear. Lexi falls hard, victim once again to the only thing that can destroy her and, on the way, finds herself falling straight into the dangerous tattooed arms of a guy from the wrong side of the tracks.

Austin Carillo, starting Wide Receiver for the Alabama Crimson Tide, must get picked in this year’s NFL draft. He needs it. His brothers need it. Most importantly, his mother desperately needs it. Brought up in a world where the poor are forgotten, the sick are left to fend for themselves and no hero miraculously appears to pull you out of hell, Austin had no other choice but to make a living on the wrong side of the law—until football offered Austin the break to get his life back on track. But when a family tragedy drags him back into the clutches of the gang he believed he had left far behind, Austin finds himself falling. Falling back into criminal ways and falling deep into a suffocating darkness. Until a troubled yet kindred spirit stumbles across his path, where Austin quickly finds he is falling for a young woman, a young woman who might just have the power to save him from his worst enemy: himself.

Can two troubled souls find a lasting peace together? Or will they finally succumb to the demons threatening to destroy them?

 

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘SWEET FALL (Sweet Home Series book #3)’:

This is the third novel of the Sweet Home Series by Author Tillie Cole.  This novel is titled ‘Sweet Fall’ and I have to say, she has done it again.  Sweet Fall delivers all of the emotional high-points that have become her signature writing style to me and a very interesting storyline.  The story is written in the two P.O.V.’s(point of views) of the main characters, Lexi and Austin.

Lexington ‘Lexi’ Hart has been through so much in her young life but things begin to look up for her as she begins her senior year as a college student.  She gets a spot on the cheer squad, which has been something she has wanted for so long.  Unfortunately, old demons begin to creep up and fight to bring her down.  When certain events occur in her life, she begins to slowly listen to those dark thoughts.  She slowly begins to fall into the darkness of becoming a broken girl with a mask to hide the truth and smile to fake her real self from her closest friends.  But there is one person who surprisingly enters her life, giving her some hope again.

Sadly, the new person in Lexi’s life has his own dark past of demons he’s dealing with.  Austin Carillo is the hot bad-boy with the tattoos, large-fit body, piercings galore and an attitude that fits.  He’s also the starting Wide Receiver of the Alabama Crimson Tide and his best friend is the star-quarterback, Rome ‘Rome’ Prince.  Most people think he’s tough, dangerous and just a great football player with a promising future.  Most people from his college-life have no idea that he has so many difficult issues that are on a collision course from his past to who he is now.  They may destroy what he’s been working hard to reach before he can even get there: the draft into professional football.

The girl with a broken view of herself and the boy from a broken lifestyle, unite in an unexpected way.  No matter how much they try to steer clear of each other, something always seems to cause their paths to continuously collide, as if fate has a hand in it.  Will Lexi find the strength to get passed her personal war within herself?  Can Austin be her saving grace?  Will Austin find comfort and understanding in Lexi, the one girl who can demolish his family’s life?  Will Austin keep with the motto that family comes first before anything else and give up his future goals to save the ones he loves?

I definitely recommend this enthralling novel.  This was truly one of those novels you just can’t put down until you are done reading it and left fulfilled, yet wanting more because it was that entertaining.  ‘Sweet Fall’ is so raw, beautiful, touching and emotionally-captivating.  There are topics in this story that the characters have to deal with that make this story seem so realistic and thought-provoking.  Check this story out first chance you get readers.

*

Reader Warning: New Adult/Contemporary Romance novel—contains adult content, sexual situations and mature topics. Suited for ages 18 and up.

Can be read as a stand-alone novel.

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘SWEET FALL’  4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined Lexi and Austin while reading ‘SWEET FALL’:

1 collage 1

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘SWEET FALL’

Lexi’s thoughts to her BFF Daisy:  I promise, this year, I will try.  But already dark thoughts plague my mind.  Insecurities haunt me each day.  I don’t know how to purge myself of these horrid thoughts… of his horrid words.  The voice is so powerful in my mind, and only you could understand what this is like.  I’m afraid without you here, it will win.

Lexi’s thoughts about Austin: I’d seen Carillo around campus from time to time over the past three years, and I think it was the first time I’d ever seen him crack anything close to a smile.  I wasn’t surprised.  He was like me- darker, quieter, kept to himself.  Austin Carillo was the Italian bad boy of UA: six-foot-four, beautifully olive skin, piercings galore, black ear gauges, neck-to-toe tattoos, dark hair and the darkest brown eyes.

Lexi’s thoughts: Carillo began to move forward but stopped a few steps away.  He radiated danger and darkness like the sun radiated heat.  It was a force field around him, an aura, and it only served to scare me even more.

Austin’s thoughts: I’d waited until all the players had left the locker room, then tore the place apart.  And then in she walked, the fuckin’ Goth cheerleader.  Except she hadn’t looked too much like a Goth.  I liked the Goth look; she was dark like me.  But without makeup, she looked so different… She looked beautiful, and my heart almost exploded in my chest.  But of late, she was seeing too much of me and my family.  And I’d had to scare her away.  It was my duty as a Carillo.

Lexi and Austin: The soothing vocals of “Ave Maria” serenaded from the small speaker, and Austin looked at me and shrugged in embarrassment.  “It makes her smile,” was all he said.  I lost a piece of my heart to him right then.

Austin and Lexi: Austin nodded once, a curt stoic nod. “Catch you later, Pix.”
I scurried down the path to my sorority house, when I heard Austin shout, “Pix?”
Halting, I turned around, and he moved from the shadows into the moonlight. My heart constricted at the beautiful sight.
“Why the war paint?”
I brushed back my bobbed hair and replied, “Why the tattoos?”
Austin smiled at my response, his white teeth illuminated, and he shook his head, flicking two fingers as his wave good-bye.

Austin to Lexi:  “Yeah, I said you’re a freak.” Lexi flinched at my words, but I added, “But so the fuck am I.”

Austin and Lexin:  “The rain has freed your freckles, Pix,” he said in a raspy voice.
My stomach rolled at the fact that my heavy makeup had washed away, and I began to panic at being so exposed. “I-“
Before I could finish what I wanted to say, Austin leaned down and pressed a soft kiss to the tip of my nose, shocking me into stillness. His lips continued to pepper along my cheek until they reached my ear, where he whispered, “They’re beautiful. I love seeing you without the war paint. I love seeing the real you underneath the armor.”
Forget poetry. Forget mushy sentiments, hearts and flowers, and men who know how to play a girl with words.

Austin to Lexi:  But now I see the truth.  I now pity the stars.  For as much as humans mess up time and time again, we also get to fall in love.  We get to be with the other half of our soul, the one that makes us complete.  All the stars get to do is watch from above, wishing it was them feeling this crushing yet liberating emotion.

Lexi’s thoughts:  I now understand that unless you have traveled an uneasy road, you fail to appreciate what is truly important.  For me, this is accepting myself, flaws and all.  But it’s also love.

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles

Blogging Book Review – Sweet Home (Sweet Home Series – book #1) by Tillie Cole. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

ARC- Blogging Book Review – It Ain’t Me, Babe (Hades Hangmen – book #1) by Tillie Cole. (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

📚

3 responses to “A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: SWEET FALL by Tillie Cole

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Sweet Hope’ by Tillie Cole. | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. Pingback: BOOK: COVER REVEAL & SERIES REVEAL – ‘REAP’ by TILLIE COLE. | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

