A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘IF I STAY’ by Gayle Forman.

A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘IF I STAY’ (If I Stay Series-Book #1) by Gayle Forman.

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐

About the first installment of the ‘If I Stay Series’:

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: IF I STAY
Author:  Gayle Forman
Series: If I Stay Series – Book #1
Published date:  April 2nd, 2009

📚

(Click image below to order your copy of ‘If I Stay (Book #1)’ Now)

If I Stay by Gayle Forman book 1

The Synopsis & My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘IF I STAY (Book #1)’:

***WARNING: May contain minor SPOILERS while explaining the synopsis.***

‘If I Stay’ is the first novel of the two-book series known as the ‘If I Stay Series’ by author Gayle Forman.  This story is quite compelling because of what occurs within the first couple of chapters of the book to the main character, Mia Hall and her family.  The story is written in Mia’s P.O.V.(point of view) and shifts between the present and past memories that she recalls during her ordeal.

Mia Hall is a young teenage girl who loves to play her cello and enjoys classical music.  She is quite talented and has a chance at a bright and promising future.  She’s beautiful but not in the ‘trying too hard to be’ kind of way. Her best friend is Kim Schein, who many have referred to as her twin because of their similar looks and brunette hair.  Mia’s family is close and loving; her parents are open-minded people who love their children like crazy and her younger brother, Teddy, is your typical adorable fun-loving kid.

Then there is Adam Wilde.  Adam is in a band called Shooting Star and owns the stage with his confident presence.  He also happens to be Mia’s boyfriend. They have been in a loving relationship that makes little sense to those who don’t see how they mesh well together but their relationship works well because of their mutual love for music and for each other.  He is punk-rock and she is classical but their differences blend well because of how mature beyond its years their romantic relationship is.

Mia seems to have it all: music talent, a bright future, a true best friend, a supportive family and a loving boyfriend.  It was all perfect… perfect until the crash.  The crash changes everything and life will never be the same.  Mia’s family is met with so much tragedy and such a trying-time for those that love the Hall family.

Possible Spoilers Here:  While Mia lies comatose in a hospital — Mia comes to realize that she isn’t walking and observing her bedside visitors in the regular way.  She has been having an out-of-body experience ever since she awoke at the crash site.  While she witnesses how her extended family members and friends handle how the crash has effected Mia’s family, her mind begins to flashback through memories from her life.  In those memories and in certain moments in the hospital, Mia is given the chances to see what there is to still live for.

‘If I Stay’ is truly both heartwarming and heartbreaking.  The story will definitely send you through an emotional ride as you get to know these characters in the present and in the past, through Mia’s memories. Mia is left with huge choices. Which life changing choice will she make? Love is definitely powerful and so is family and the strong relationships we make in life.  I truly recommend this novel because it is a very touching read and the mildly quirky characters make it a unique read on top of the emotions it evokes. Read this one before the book to movie adaptation hits the big screen in August of 2014.

📚

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR SCORE FOR ‘IF I STAY’ IS 4 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4

👏

The characters from the ‘IF I STAY’ film adaptation(Mia, Adam,Mia’s parents, her brother Teddy and her BFF Kim):

If I Stay 1b


‘IF I STAY’ hits theaters: August 22nd, 2014.(U.S.)

🎬

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow us on Twitter: @BooksMoviesFandoms

Related Articles

Book to Movie Adaptation: IF I STAY [2014] Watch Trailer Now.  (BooksMoviesFandoms.wordpress.com)

6 responses to “A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘IF I STAY’ by Gayle Forman.

  1. Pingback: Book of the Month – If I Stay – Gayle Forman | Jen's Pen Den

  2. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. i love this book more than anything in the world the second one is just as good i love how the story is written IFLY this book

  4. I loved “If I Stay” I thought this book was very deep and thought provoking. It makes you think about your life and what you would do if something were to threaten your life. What do you have to stay for? It makes you reevaluate your life and priorities. What if something happened to you and your family tomorrow? Would you want to do anything differently? All the questions came into my mind as I read. I could feel everything that the characters were feeling and imagine all these traumatic events happen, almost as if it were me. I felt as though it was a realistic view of how a person might feel in a similar situation and that’s the main reason I enjoyed it so much.

  5. I really like this book, and i have already read it myself too. I think you wrote a really good blog post about it, and you wrote well what the characters are feeling and what the main points of the story are. I also have a blog post about the book IF I STAY. If you would like to read it, here is the link: http://mythinkingblogsilke.wordpress.com/

    It would be nice if you would leave a comment behind. Well done again on the post!

  6. So ” If I Stay ” is probably the best book ever written. If you want to read about a tragic love story this is the book for you. I could not put the book down it was so addictive. It also made me think about my life a little more, if my familiy got in a cat crash I don’t know how I would choose if I would stay or go. Once again LOVE THE BOOK!!!!!!!!❤️

Leave a Reply

