A Blogging Reader’s Review: MY SKYLAR by Penelope Ward

Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘My Skylar’ (Gemini Series-Book #3) by Penelope Ward.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: MY SKYLAR
Author: Penelope Ward
Series: Gemini Series (book #3)
Publishing date: June 12th, 2014

📚

(Click cover below to order a copy of ‘MY SKYLAR’ Now)

My Skylar Cover Penelope Ward

The Synopsis for ‘My Skylar’ (via: Goodreads) :

From the author of the Amazon #1 bestselling romance, Jake Undone, comes a friends-to-lovers story of longing, passion, betrayal and redemption……with a twist that will rip your heart out.

Skylar was my best friend, but I secretly pined for her. One thing after another kept us apart, and I’ve spent the last decade in fear of losing her forever.

First, it was the cancer, but she survived only to face the unthinkable at my hands. Because of me, she left town. For years, I thought I’d never see her again.

But now she’s back…and living with him.

I don’t deserve her after everything I’ve put her through, but I can’t live without her. This is my last chance, because she’s about to make the biggest mistake of her life. I can see it her eyes: she doesn’t love him. She still loves me…which is why I have to stop her before it’s too late.

My Skylar is a STANDALONE novel and a companion to Jake Undone.

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘MY SKYLAR (Gemini Series book #3)’:

‘My Skylar’ is the third novel of the ‘Gemini Series’ by Author Penelope Ward.  I was very excited to finally read the story of Skylar, who we met in the Gemini Series’ second novel ‘Jake Undone.’  FYI, there are cameos from Nina and Jake from ‘Jake Undone'(Gemini Series book #2). Yes, Penelope Ward continues to prove herself as a talented author and one of my favorites, thanks to ‘Jake Undone’. Now ‘My Skylar’ has just sealed the deal…again.  In this novel, we get the chance to read the story through three P.O.V.’s(point of views).  We mainly get to read through the two main character’s views, Skylar Seymour and Mitch Nichols but we also get a small third P.O.V. from what I’d call a villain type of character named Charisma.

Mitch Nichols was sent to stay with his grandmother for the summer when he was eleven years old.  His parents were having relationship issues, making Mitch feel angry and hopeless. He had no idea that during that summer, his life would be changed beginning with one innocent encounter on a playground with a skinny little ten year old girl, with her hair in two-neat-braids.  His life begins to head down a path that somehow always leads to one girl, who he could never forget.  Mitch has held onto a fear that causes him to keep his growing feelings for Skylar on a friends only level because of his fear of becoming someone like his father.

Skylar Seymour began to build a friendship over one special summer with the boy who wore a Yankees cap all the time, Mitch. When he had to leave, both had no clue when and if they’d see each other again but those childhood memories would always be with them.  As years go by, she is faced with dilemmas in life and love.  Will Skylar ever be able to have the one boy she’s always missed and cared for the most…

The story of Skylar and Mitch covers about a fifteen year time-span.  There are so many moments and troubled issues they each have to deal with such as: dating, jealousy, experiencing their firsts, Cancer, love, heartbreak, happiness and life.  First Cancer threatens their happiness. Then, when Skylar is faced with a situation that could rip Mitch and her completely apart, would she be able to ever forgive him? Skylar and Mitch’s lives are face with issues that could rip people apart and moments that would mend them back together. Is their love still strong enough after time goes by, to help Skylar see what is right in front of her, before it’s too late?

This story is one of those amazing finds that brings you as close to perfection as you could get from a Contemporary Romance. ‘My Skylar’ will make you laugh hysterically, giggle like a fool, cry like the heartbreaking moments are your own and just leave you delightfully sated from such a great emotional story. I absolutely recommend this great novel and this series. The stories are always satisfying as a novel should be. After reading ‘My Skylar’, I am left with teary eyes, a gratified heart and the urge to go to McDonald’s.  Once you’ve read this beautiful story, you’ll get it! 🙂

*

Reader Warning: Contains graphic sexual content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+.

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘MY SKYLAR’  4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined Skylar and Mitch while reading ‘MY SKYLAR’:

1 collage 2

MY SKYLAR – A Few Teasers

My Skylar 3My Skylar 2My Skylar 4

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘MY SKYLAR’

Mitch’s thoughts:  I was seething. HIM.  I didn’t even know him, and I wanted to destroy him.  All I know was that he had the only thing I’d ever wanted.

Young Mitch and his grandmother: “Hey, Gram.”
“Did you have fun, honey?”
I thought about it before answering. “Yeah.”
“Good. I saw you met Skylar Seymour.”
“Huh? Yeah…what…you…you know her?”
“Of course. She lives right across the street from me.”
Jackpot.

Skylar’s thoughts: What I loved about Mitch Nichols: He had pointy ears like Dr. Spock from Dad’s favorite show, Star Trek. He liked to suck on ketchup packets as a snack. And he called me Skylar, not Sky.
What I hated about Mitch Nichols: At the end of August, he would be gone.
That summer, in two short months, he became the best friend I ever had.

Mitch and Skylar: “Have you ever kissed anyone?”
She shook her head no but didn’t say anything.
“Are you planning to give him your first kiss?”
“Probably.”
The jealousy that nearly made me insane earlier returned in full force.  “You can’t do that.”
“Why?”
My heart pounded in anticipation of what I was about to do.  “Because I’m stealing it.”

Skylar and Mitch: “How do you know there’s a God?”
“Because once, when I was a little boy, I felt hopeless, like my world was ending. I prayed hard one night and asked him to send me a sign that he was listening.”
“What happened?”
“The very next day, I met you for the first time.”
“And he sent you to me.”

Mitch and Skylar: I grabbed her face. “He can’t take you away from me because our story’s not finished.”
She put her forehead on mine. “To be continued.”
“To be continued,” I said over her lips.

Mitch’s thoughts:  Through her frailty, I saw her soul -the essence of why I’d always loved her.  It shined brighter, no longer paling in the reflection of her physical beauty.  It made me realize that I truly loved her from the inside out, not the other way around.

Mitch’s thoughts:  Either way, it became abundantly clear that with this new threat looming, I had to fight harder and faster.  I no longer had months to get her to see that she belonged with me.  Maybe I would never be the safe choice, but I was the right choice.  I would love her harder than I ever hurt her.

Skylar’s thoughts:  In that moment, I chose to set aside my fears and truly saw him for the first time since home.
My Mitch.
The boy. The Teenager. The man. His eyes were the one constant and the window into the soul of all three. I’d loved them all equally.

Mitch’s thoughts: I was overcome with emotion as I peered into her eyes and saw my entire world staring back at me: my past, my present and my future.
My Skylar.

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

Related Articles

Happy Release Day Blitz – ‘My Skylar’ by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Double Cover Reveal & Giveaway – ‘My Skylar’ and ‘Jake Understood’ by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review for ‘Jake Undone’(Gemini Series-#2) by Penelope Ward (booksmoviesfandoms.wordpress.com)

📚

4 responses to “A Blogging Reader’s Review: MY SKYLAR by Penelope Ward

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: BOOK: COVER REVEAL! ‘Stepbrother Dearest’ by Penelope Ward. | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s ARC-Review: STEPBROTHER DEAREST by Penelope Ward | Books Movies Fandoms

  4. Pingback: A Blogging Reader’s Review: NEIGHBOR DEAREST by Penelope Ward. | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

