ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘The Wolf’ by Lorenzo Carcaterra.

ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘THE WOLF’ by Lorenzo Carcaterra.

📚

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: THE WOLF
Author: Lorenzo Carcaterra
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine (Review based on ARC copy – early review)
Publishing date: July 29th, 2014

📚

(Click image cover below to order your copy of ‘THE WOLF’ Now)

The Wolf by Lorenzo Carcaterra

The Synopsis for ‘THE WOLF’:

My name is Vincent Marelli, though most people call me The Wolf. You’ve never met me, and if you’re lucky you never will. But in more ways than you could think of, I own you.

I run the biggest criminal operation in the world. We’re invisible but we’re everywhere. Wherever you go, whatever you do, however it is you spend your money, a piece of it lands in our pockets.

You would think that with that kind of power I would be invincible. You would be wrong. I made a mistake, one that a guy like me can never afford to make. I let my guard down. And because I did, my wife and daughters are gone. Murdered by terrorists with a lethal ax to grind.

That was my mistake.

But it was also theirs.

I wasn’t looking for a war with them. No one in my group was. But they’ve left me with nothing but a desire for revenge—so a war is what they’ll get. The full strength of international organized crime against every known terrorist group working today. Crime versus chaos.

We will protect our interests, and I will protect my son. We won’t get them all, but I will get my revenge, or I will die trying.

They will know my name.

They will feel my wrath.

They will fear The Wolf.

💥

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading  an ARC-Early Copy of ‘THE WOLF’:

I was given an ARC early-copy of the novel: ‘THE WOLF’ by author Lorenzo Carcaterra in exchange for an honest review.  This is a story about a society that lives behind the scenes, intertwined with individuals who run organized crime like a business,  hidden from the limelight.  They do their dealings like any successful business and control more than many are aware of.  You will be reading this story through multiple P.O.V.’s(point of view) starting with the main character Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli, also from four other characters: Vladimir “The Impaler” Kostolov(Russian leader of the Red Mafiya), Victorio Emanuele “The Cobra” Jannetti, Raza and  Brunello.

The story begins with introducing us to Vincent Marelli, known to many as ‘The Wolf’ because of his methods when it comes to handling people and business.  He was raised by an uncle who was already an established and feared mob boss.  Vincent ‘The Wolf’ is hit with tragedy. And now with the knowledge  that there are terrorists dead-set on causing as much destruction as possible, he must step up as a leader one of the youngest mob bosses, to do something about it.  He meets with their established union of mob bosses from other crime syndicates from other countries to see if they will fight with him against the threat that could affect them all.  A war is inevitable.  A war between international organized crime factions and terrorists that are willing to cause death, catastrophe and mayhem. No one is safe. No one is innocent in the battle except the victims who are unaware of those who have waged a war against anyone they can.

When I began reading this novel, the start of it began very promising and gets you emotionally invested into the character Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli after a tragic event.  As the story continues, you will be introduced to many characters through the first quarter of the novel, which may seem a tad bit overwhelming to some.  But they each play their own influential role in the story, even the few that are short lived. One character is Angela ‘The Strega’ Jannetti, who will be her father’s replacement from the Camorra syndicate in Italy and has history with Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli.  ‘The Wolf’ Novel really picks up in the second half of the novel as you begin to see where the characters fall into their roles and people begin to show their true intentions.  

Can Vincent ‘The Wolf’ handle his need for revenge while trying to lead the way against an international threat to his way of life?  When some of Vincent ‘The Wolf’s’ trusted allies begin to meet their own demise, who can he trust till the end?  Will Vincent ‘The Wolf’ ever find out who caused the tragedy that directly & personally affected him? This was a decently-thrilling story with an action-packed conclusion.  I recommend this to readers who enjoy a story with thrilling moments of action and suspense, in a world where organized crime and terrorism face-off for control and power.  As a reader, I’m curious to find out if there will be more stories to follow, surrounding Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli or if this will become a series. We shall see. On that note, check out this dark and interesting story.

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR RATING: ‘THE WOLF’  4 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4

👏

How I imagined Vincent ‘The Wolf’ & Angela ‘The Strega’ while reading ‘The Wolf’:

1 collage 2

__________________________________________________

MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘THE WOLF’

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts:  It was me they targeted.  Me they wanted.  It’s me they’ve  always wanted.  But they couldn’t touch me.  So they reached for the ones they could get.  And I let them walk right into it.

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts:  …a modern gangster needed to be educated, as skillful with a spread sheet as he was with a gun and a blade.

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts:  You don’t talk peace with a guy looking for a fight and you can’t cut a deal unless you trust the hand you’re shaking.  I looked at the situation from every possible angle and could figure no other way out.  It was a war that needed to be fought.

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts on his son:  Jack was the blade the enemy held over my neck, and I feared the worst.  That fear?  It was both my sword and my Achilles’ heel.  My strength and my weakness.

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts on Angela ‘The Strega’:  …I could not lose sight of a cold, hard truth -that behind the beauty and charm of the woman across from me was the brutal head of one of the largest criminal organizations in the world.

Vincent ‘The Wolf’ Marelli’s thoughts:  I knew on that night there were many more battles to be fought.
I knew there would be more opponents to be defeated.
I knew there was a good chance I would not win them all.
I knew that my son, my organization, could be lost if I failed.
But what I knew more than anything else was a truth I had always feared.
I knew now I would need to confront a destroy someone I trusted and perhaps even someone I loved.
I knew now the name of my enemy.
I knew now that my war had only just begun.

💥

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow on Twitter:  @BooksMoviesFans

 

One response to “ARC-Book Review! A Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘The Wolf’ by Lorenzo Carcaterra.

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

