Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’ by Michelle A. Hansen

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’ by Michelle A. Hansen.

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: BEFORE THEY FIND US
Author:  Michelle A. Hansen
Published date: (November 2013) (Reviewed in March 9th, 2014)

📚

(Click image below to order your copy of ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’ Now)

Before They Find Us by Michelle A. Hansen

The Synopsis & My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’:

I’ve come across a number of YA novels that are great stories, even though I am not in the target-audience age group for that genre.  This one is definitely one of those rare jewels that truly was entertaining and endearing throughout the entire story.  Even though the story is written in the main female character Rebecca’s P.O.V.(Point of view), you also get a bonus 2nd P.O.V.  from a vengeful girl named Mary in the prologue.  The journey that this story takes you on still feels very fulfilling in all of the aspects it tries to cover within this novel. This is all thanks to the likeable characters,  the mystery surrounding the main characters and the story that hooks you and never let’s go through each chapter.

First you have Rebecca “Beck” Hales who is seventeen years old and lives in a small town in Wyoming with her parents and a cute hunting dog named Bullet.  She is a beautiful girl who doesn’t really put effort into her looks but still get’s crushed on occasionally, nonetheless.  She’s not your average teenager because she’s haunted by a crime she witnessed years earlier in the park across the street and doesn’t sleep well at night because of the nightmares that replay in her mind of that night.  Thanks to her, the person who committed that horrific crime was caught and sent to prison.  Unfortunately, something happens in her present day life, causing a whirlwind of events to flip her life completely upside down.

Then you have Beck’s best friend since they were toddlers, Ryan Forsyth.  They have always been close, best friends through thick-and-thin and they even made a pact with each other that neither of them had ever broken.  Ryan’s family moved away to Las Vegas from Wyoming, leaving Rebecca to try her best to continue through her days like normal, while inside, she always missed her best friend.  The distance didn’t get in the way of Ryan and Rebecca’s friendship, especially when things went bad and Ryan became the main suspect in a school bombing.

Ryan confesses that he’s innocent and Rebecca is firm about his innocence too, but most people around them are assuming the worst since all signs and evidence is pointing at him.  To top it all off, there are some threatening text messages they’ve been receiving, making them wonder if one thing is related to the other.  Only time will tell and it’s quickly running out.  They take off back to the town where the crime was committed, Las Vegas, to try to prove Ryan’s innocence.  This story was superbly entertaining and I enjoyed every twist and turn that their journey takes the reader on.  I highly recommend this book for any age because it’s a well told story.  Honestly, I would like to see this become a series because the extra characters in the story like Andrew, Jordan, Tate, Brandon and even smaller characters like Anson and his sister Zoe seemed like interesting characters and I’d like to read more about their own stories.  I’d be excited to read about them as well as hear how Ryan and Beck’s lives are going. Fingers crossed.  So back to ‘Before They Find Us’, it’s a great suspenseful-thriller that has the mystery to keep you hooked till the end. Check it out! 🙂

📚

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR SCORE FOR ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’ IS 4 1/2 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4.5

👏

How I imagined Rebecca, Ryan and Jordan while reading ‘Before They Find Us’:

1 collage 2

________________________________________________________

★★★MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’★★★

Rebecca’s thoughts:  This town won’t let me forget.  People say it just takes time, but some wounds run too deep.  Some things are never forgotten.  Sure, no one had spoken of the crime in years.  No one had egged my house since middle school, but it was always there, following me around like a shadow.  And here’s the really sucky part: it wasn’t even my crime.

Rebecca’s thoughts:  The guy who grabbed me in the dark tonight was ten times more a man than the boy who moved away.  I filed all those observations behind a big sign in my mind that said, “Just Friends.”

Ryan and Rebecca:  Ryan’s eyes lit at the sight of the food,”I could kiss you.”
“Don’t even think about it,” I said because I’d probably like it, and that was very, very wrong.
Ryan and I had been friends since we were two.  You’re not supposed to be attracted to your best friend.

Rebecca’s thoughts:  Ryan was my friend.  He’d always be my friend.  We could never be anything more than friends, or I’d risk losing him.  Because, really, who is friends with their ex?  No one.

Jordan to Rebecca:  “Rebecca, it’s not just the Vegas Metro you’re up against,” he said.  “It’s the FBI and the ATF.  Until proven otherwise, they consider Ryan a terrorist.”

On Rebecca’s facebook from unknown:  “You can run, Rebecca, BUT I WILL FIND YOU.”

Rebecca’s thoughts:  Kyle couldn’t create a Facebook account from the grave.  Still, I couldn’t get the images out of my head.  Every time I closed my eyes, I saw Kyle.

Ryan to Rebecca in her dream/sleep:  “Just you and me, Beck.  We’ll be safe here. ‘Cause we’re together.”  In the dream I let myself slip into Ryan’s arms.  I leaned my head against his shoulder, and he stroked my hair.  “No one can hurt you now,” he said.  “I won’t let them.”  Because I knew he’d never lie, I let myself go.  I sank into a deep sleep where no dreams haunted me.

Rebecca’s thoughts:  I had less than one minute to tell Ryan what he meant to me, and I didn’t want to waste it.  When our lips met, I gave him my cherished memories of us huddled together over comic books when we were kids, late-night chats on the phone, every smile, every time he’d told me I’d be okay.  I tried to show him what it meant to have someone who believed I’d make it out of my darkness.  He’d always stood in the light with his hand out, reaching for me until I caught hold.

 Rebecca’s thoughts:  Sure, sometimes this city felt like the seventh circle of hell with its traffic and the heat and lack of grass, but Ryan was here.  Tate and Jordan and Mariah were here.  Vegas gave me a new start.  In the sunshine I finally let go of the darkness.

Rebecca and Ryan:  “You deserve better.”
Ryan’s eyes narrowed.  “Better than unconditional loyalty?
Better than someone who will risk going to prison for me?
Better than almost being killed to set me free?”

Andrew to Rebecca:  “You told the truth when no one wanted to listen.  They wanted to believe some outsider had done it.  No one wanted to admit we raised that evil right here in this town.”

Ryan and Rebecca:  “I’m fine,” he said.  “Better now.”
“Me, too.”  I needed this closeness.  His steady heartbeat lulled me.  His warmth melted the shock.
In his arms I’d finally be able to sleep.
“You know my parents will kill us when they find you here in the morning.”
Ryan’s breathing slowed.  His reply was drowsy.  “Don’t care.  I’m not leaving you.”

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow us on Twitter: @BooksMoviesFandoms

One response to “Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘BEFORE THEY FIND US’ by Michelle A. Hansen

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

