Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘LIFERS’ by Jane Harvey-Berrick

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘LIFERS’ by Jane Harvey-Berrick.

(This review will also be posted on Amazon.com and Goodreads.com)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

Title: LIFERS
Author:  Jane Harvey-Berrick
Published date: (February 7th, 2014)

📚

(Click image below to order your copy of ‘LIFERS’ Now)

Lifers by Jane Harvey-Berrick

The Synopsis for ‘LIFERS’:

After eight years in prison, twenty-four year old Jordan Kane is the man everyone loves to hate.

Forced to return to his hometown while on parole, Jordan soon learns that this small town hasn’t changed since he was carted off to juvie all those years ago. He is the local pariah, shunned by everyone, including his own parents. But their hatred of him doesn’t even come close to the loathing he feels every time he looks in the mirror.

Torrey Delaney is new in town and certainly doesn’t behave in a way the locals believe a preacher’s daughter should. Her reputation for casual hook-ups and meaningless sex is the talk of the town. Add that to her budding friendship with the hardened ex-con handyman, and the good Reverend is less than thrilled with her estranged daughter’s path.

As friendship forms, is it possible for two damaged people who are afraid to love take their relationship to the next level? Can Torrey live with Jordan’s demons, and can Jordan break through Torrey’s walls? With the disapproval of a small town weighing heavily on them, will they find their place in the world? Can they struggle against the odds, or will their world be viciously shattered?

Is love a life sentence?

Due to scenes of a sexual nature, not recommended for under 18

_____________________________________________________________________________

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘LIFERS’:

This review is on the latest novel by Author Jane Harvey-Berrick titled: LIFERS.  The story follows twenty-four year old Torrey Delaney, who left her life in Boston and her job as a paralegal after sleeping with her boss, who ended up being a jerk and making it hard for her to want to stay there.  And it also follows a ‘fresh-out-of-prison’ ex-con named Jordan Kane, who carries guilt over so much but keeps it to himself in a town that seems to hate him for what he did eight-years prior.  Readers, you will get to enjoy this story in the two main character’s P.O.V.’s (point of views), Torrey and Jordan.

Torrey Delaney is the daughter of a local preacher lady who she doesn’t have a close relationship with, after her mother left to when Torrey was thirteen.  Torrey, now twenty-four, left Boston to sort her life out after leaving behind her job and mistakes.  After arriving in the small town in Texas to live with her mother temporarily while she figures out the next direction in her life,  she gets a quick job to make a little cash.  She enjoys hooking up with random guys when she feels like it but many in town think she’s a little too “friendly” for being a preacher’s daughter.  The thing is, Torrey doesn’t care!  She is feisty, outspoken and basically a firecracker.  One day a young mysterious guy walks into her job but after seeing how horrible the locals treat him, she becomes a little curious about him.  She had no idea of his past and that he would soon be working for her mother as part of his parole agreement.

That brings us to the mysterious guy, Jordan Kane. He seems to be hated by most of the people of his hometown and even his own parents keep their distance and aren’t afraid to let him know how much they don’t want him around.  He was just released on parole after eight years of being incarcerated.  Jordan carries guilty for what happened eight years ago and just walks around quiet, feeling that all of the dislike people openly share with him, he deserves.  He is handsome and tattooed from his years in prison but he is basically alone, since no one will have anything to do with him.  After meeting the preacher’s daughter, he begins to slowly feel that he’s found someone who doesn’t judge him or hate him, regardless of his past. Feelings begin to blossom between these two.

Sadly, Jordan seems to carry his own dislike for himself and it is eating away at him as time goes on. The story takes the characters down the rocky path of dealing with loss, while hoping for some forgiveness from others while also trying to forgive oneself.  Can Torrey accept Jordan’s past and is she strong enough to stand by him?  Will Jordan ever be able to forgive himself?  Read about their story and see if Jordan will be strong enough to handle the hate from a town against him and if Torrey is willing to stand by him while being disliked for associating with him. Yes, check this beautiful story out and see how Jordan and Torrey deal with the challenges they must face head-on and see if they will ever find what is best for them or if they are destined to be “Lifers” in that small town.

📚

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR SCORE FOR ‘LIFERS’ IS 4 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4

👏

How I imagined Torrey and Jordan while reading ‘LIFERS’:

1 Jordan and Torrey 2

________________________________________________________

★★★MEMORABLE QUOTES & LINES FROM ‘LIFERS’★★★

Torrey’s thoughts:  He stared at me, and for a fraction of a second our eyes met- beautiful, soulful brown irises.  They were so deep, I could have swam a few laps in those eyes.

Jordan’s thoughts:  I had to stay for another four months, maybe more, then I was out of here.  I didn’t know where I was going to go- anywhere but here sounded good.  And not one damn person was going to miss me.

Jordan and Torrey:  “Here, everyone knows my story and has decided I’m trash.”
“Except me,” she said, still staring straight into my eyes.
“Yeah, but that’s because you don’t know me.”
“You want me to leave you alone?”  The way she said it, I knew that if I said yes, she’d walk away and that would be that.
“No, I don’t want you to leave me alone.”

Torrey and Jordan:  Then she stood in front of me, holding out her arms. “Well?  How do I look?”
Beautiful. Gorgeous. Sexy. Off limits.  “Um, fine,” I managed to squeeze out.
She raised her eyebrows.  “You smooth talking stud. I can see that I’m going to have to watch myself with you.”

Jordan’s thoughts:  …maybe it would be better if I went somewhere no one knew me.  I wouldn’t be leaving anything behind- except Torrey.  I felt the pain of regret in my chest.  Yeah, I’d miss her.

Torrey’s thoughts:  I wanted to know him, and I wanted him to have the chance to be the person he was meant to be, not just the shadow of a man he was right now.

Jordan and Torrey:  “I wasn’t jokin’,” he said, holding my gaze.  “I’m just so fuckin’ grateful that you’re here.”  He took a deep breath.  “And I really want to kiss you right now.”

Jordan Kane:  “When she looks at me I can see my future in her eyes… She don’t know it yet, but she’s not gettin’ away from me.”

💕

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow us on Twitter: @BooksMoviesFandoms

One response to “Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘LIFERS’ by Jane Harvey-Berrick

  1. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

