Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Out Of Line’ by Jen McLaughlin

Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Out Of Line’ by Jen McLaughlin(Diane Alberts)

Title: OUT OF LINE..
Author: Jen McLaughlin(Diane Alberts)
Series:  Out Of Line Series (Book #1 of 3)
Publisher: Self-Published (September 2013)

⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐★⭐

(Click image below to order your copy of ‘Out Of Line’ Now)

Out Of Line by Jen McLaughlin

The Premise of the story on goodreads:

Desperate to break free…

I’ve spent my entire life under my father’s thumb, but now I’m finally free to make my own choices. When my roommate dragged me to my first college party, I met Finn Coram and my life turned inside out. He knows how to break the rules and is everything I never knew I wanted. A Marine by day and surfer by night, he pushes me away even as our attraction brings us closer. Now I am finally free to do whatever I want. I know what I want. I choose Finn.

Trying to play by the rules…
I always follow orders. My job, my life, depends on it. I thought this job would be easy, all the rules were made crystal clear, but when I met Carrie Wallington, everything got muddy. She’s a rule I know I shouldn’t break, but damn if I don’t inch closer to the breaking point each time I see her. I’m ready to step out of line. And even worse? I’m living a lie. They say the truth will set you free, but in my case…

The truth will cost me everything.

_____________________________________________________________________________

My ‘Blogging Reader’s Review’ after reading ‘OUT OF LINE’:

I’ve come to realize that the New Adult genre is full of wonderful stories and ‘Out Of Line’ is one I am happy to say deserves a positive review. I am looking forward to the follow-up novel to this series titled ‘Out Of Time’ to see where the story goes for the two main characters, Carrie and Finn. A few things for readers who are interested in this novel; my favorite thing is multiple P.O.V’s(Point of Views) and yes this story offers two. The two P.O.V’s are that of Carrie and Finn. This book was just released in September of 2013 and the sequel is expected mid-December of 2013, making me a happy reader! 🙂 No year-long wait for this follow-up, which is always great. Many thank you’s to the author for that.

The story follows a nineteen year old girl named Carrie who is the daughter of a protective and overbearing father, who also happens to be a senator. Carrie has always been a little awkward but she has finally grown out of her ‘gawky’ stage just in time for college. She moves far from home for school in hopes of finding some room to breath after living a sheltered and protected life with agents watching her every move while growing up, thanks to her dad. She’s described as the kind of beautiful that is natural and unbeknownst to the person themselves, and soft red hair.

Carrie isn’t into the party scene like her college dorm-mate, Marie. After being talked into going to a party, she goes but eventually leaves to walk by the beach. While out there, she meets a very attractive guy with a few tattoos and a nice fit body named Finn. What Carrie doesn’t know about Finn is that he works for her dad as an undercover agent who has sworn to protect Carrie. During this time, she believes her father’s security is hiding out of sight, when in fact he’s right in front of her face.

Finn and Carrie develop a friendship but there is a definite attraction there between these two. Carrie surprises Finn in so many ways because she is not the bratty, stuck-up, party-girl that Finn expected her to be. Carrie tries to share her growing feelings with Finn but he’s always giving her mixed signals. His signals are mixed because he himself is starting to have feelings for her as well but he knows that he’s there to do a job and that would break all of the rules. It doesn’t come easy to break the rules because Finn has been taught about duty and following rules since he’s also a Marine when he’s not working as an agent.

Finn’s character is that of a protective, alpha-male guy who likes to surf on his free time. As Finn finds new reasons to spend time with Carrie, it seems to bring out another side to him. As the reader you will find out if Finn will choose to pursue his growing feelings for Carrie or simply obey the rules that he signed when choosing to become her protector. Lies are told and truths eventually come crashing down around Carrie and Finn, forcing them to make hard choices. Towards the end of the story Finn receives a phone call. That call is a cliffhanger that leaves you wondering “What was the call about?”

The cliffhanger hooked me because I know he’s a Marine, therefore it leaves me wondering, did he get orders to deploy soon? Or, did Carrie’s father find out about Finn stepping out of line? Like I mentioned earlier, don’t fret we will get the chance to find out soon because the sequel to this novel is out in December of 2013! 🙂

📚

★★THE SEQUEL TO ‘OUT OF LINE’ COMING SOON!★★

Sequel novel title: OUT OF TIME (Out Of Line Series Book #2)

Cover and blurb coming on November 12, 2013.

Expected release date of 2nd book in the ‘Out Of Time’ Series:  December 17th, 2013

.

MY BLOGGING READER’S STAR SCORE FOR ‘OUT OF LINE’ 4 out of 5 stars:

1 star rating 4

👏

How I imagined Finn and Carrie while reading ‘OUT OF LINE’!

1 collage Carrie Finn 1

________________________________________________________

★★★MEMORABLE QUOTES FROM ‘OUT OF LINE’★★★

Carrie’s thoughts: People were always telling me that I had the prettiest blue eyes in the world.  They were wrong. This guy did.

Carrie: “Maybe I’m the type of girl who’s sick of living by the rules and who’s ready to have some fun.”

Finn’s thoughts: I knew her father was controlling enough to send an undercover agent to watch his nineteen-year-old daughter fumble her way through freshman year.

Carrie’s thoughts:  I had never really bothered to primp for a boy, so I’d had to rely on my best friend for help.  Google.

Carrie’s thoughts:  That look he gave me was the look that so many books described. Like he was inviting me to fall into his arms and stay there forever. God, I wanted to.

Finn’s thoughts:  My job was to serve. Protect. Keep my cover. And most of all? Not touch her. The bad thing was, I couldn’t seem to stop thinking about it.  For some reason, the little socialite who wasn’t really a socialite was getting under my skin, and I had to find a way to get her out before it was too late.  If only my Glock protected against that shit.

Finn’s thoughts: My heart twisted at the look she was giving me. All puppy-dog eyes, begging me for the truth. I wished I could give it to her. Wished I hadn’t signed a contract stating I would keep my cover, no matter what.  Wished I wasn’t a liar. I hadn’t expected it to be this hard. I hadn’t expected her.

Carrie’s thoughts: I might be inexperienced, but even I knew what a good kiss felt like. And. This. Was. It.

Finn and Carrie: “You’re one amazing woman. You know that, right, Ginger?”-(Finn)  –  The nickname that had once annoyed me sent shivers through my veins now.-(Carrie)

Finn’s thoughts:  If I had to watch her kiss another guy, I wouldn’t be responsible for my reactions.  I couldn’t have her, but I didn’t want anyone else to have her.  Yes, I knew how horrible that sounded. I didn’t care.

Carrie’s thoughts:  He was always hot, but wearing his uniform, he was catastrophic to my health.

Finn’s thoughts:  For a second, I pretended she wasn’t my boss’s daughter or my assignment. Pretended I wasn’t lying to her, and that she wouldn’t hate me when she found out the truth.

Finn’s thoughts:  I’d been lost this whole time, but I’d been fighting it.  I was done fighting her.  From now on, I would fight for her. For us.

Finn’s thoughts:  I wished I could hold her close forever. Keep her safe forever. Make sure no one ever hurt her again.  But I’d be the one hurting her.  I’d be the one ruining the very thing I so cherished… her trust.

Carrie’s thoughts:  Turns out, I didn’t like being treated like a princess.  I liked annoying surfer boys who lied to me.

Finn’s thoughts:  When I recognized the number, I sank onto the bed and swallowed hard.  This couldn’t be good news.  I just knew it.

💕

AUTHORS-If you have a book you would like me to review, please email me at: BooksMoviesFandoms@yahoo.com. Thank You!

📚

1 tag 1b

Check us out & Follow us on Twitter: @BooksMoviesFandoms

5 responses to “Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Out Of Line’ by Jen McLaughlin

  1. Pingback: BOOK Sequel: Cover Reveal! Out Of Time by Author Jen McLaughlin | Books Movies Fandoms

  2. Pingback: Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review after reading ‘Out Of Time’ by Jen McLaughlin | Books Movies Fandoms

  3. Pingback: All Book Reviews – Listed by Date | Books Movies Fandoms

  4. Pingback: BOOK: COVER REVEAL and GIVEAWAY! ‘Out Of Mind’ by Author Jen McLaughlin | Books Movies Fandoms

  5. Pingback: Book Review! One Blogging Reader’s Review: ‘Out Of Mind’ by Jen McLaughlin | Books Movies Fandoms

Leave a Reply

